The Minnesota Wild ended a 10-year winless drought at American Airlines Arena on Monday, but Friday was a different night.

The Dallas Stars scored three goals in the third period to pull away for a 5-3 win.

The Wild (20-11-2) fought back to tie the game after two periods, but simultaneous terrible penalty calls early in third on Mikko Koivu and Ryan Suter allowed the Stars to put the game away.

The Stars (16-14-3) scored just 10 seconds into the two-man advantage to reclaim a two-goal lead. It later tallied its third power play goal on its fifth try. The Stars finished the game 3-for-6 with the man advantage.

The bad calls on the Wild reached a head when Mike Rupp and Zenon Konopka tried to throw Stars forward Reilly Smith into the Wild's bench. A melee involving all five guys on the ice ensued and Rupp and Konopka were given 10-minute misconducts to end their nights.

The Stars scored the first two goals of the game in the first eight minutes of play, but Matt Cullen found Devin Setoguchi streaking down the slot to get the Wild on the board with one minute and 12 seconds remaining in the first period.

Jared Spurgeon capitalized on a loose puck on the backdoor to tie the game on the power play with four minutes and 44 seconds remaining in  the second period.

The Stars took the lead for good one minute and two seconds into the third period when Erik Cole had his own shot bounce right back to him in the slot.

Three Stars

No. 3 – Cody Eakin. The Stars forward recorded a goal and an assist.

No. 2 – Ray Whitney. The Stars forward recorded a goal and an assist.

No. 1 – Jamie Benn. The Stars forward recorded a goal and an assist.


Minnesota…..1 1 1 – 3

Dallas……….2 0 3 – 5

First Period – 1, Dallas, Whitney 6 (Benn), 4:14 (pp). 2, Dallas, Vincour 2 (Smith, Rome), 7:31. 3, Minnesota, Setoguchi 12 (Cullen), 18:48. Penalties – Koivu, Min (hooking), 3:52; Clutterbuck, Min (roughing), 11:45.

Second Period – 4, Minnesota, Spurgeon 5 (Brodziak, Koivu), 15:16 (pp). Penalties – Dillon, Dal (roughing), 14:44.

Third Period – 5, Dallas, Cole 6 (Larsen, Eakin), 1:02. 6, Dallas, Benn 7 (Whitney, Jagr), 2:10 (pp). 7, Dallas, Eakin 6 (Roy, Daley), 12:40 (pp). 8, Minnesota, Mitchell 4 (Heatley, Clutterbuck), 19:00. Penalties – Koivu, Min (hooking), 2:00; Suter, Min (cross checking), 2:00; Rome, Dal (tripping), 3:32; Parise, Min (slashing), 11:12; Rupp, Min, misconduct, (10-minute), 12:23; Konopka, Min, misconduct, (10-minute), 12:23; Konopka, Min (roughing), 12:23; Konopka, Min (roughing); served by Bouchard), 12:23; Smith, Dal (roughing), 13:23; Roussel, Dal, misconduct, (10-minute), 12:23; Eakin, Dal (cross checking), 13:50; Falk, Min, major, (fighting), 14:49; Nystrom, Dal, major, (fighting), 14:49; Rome, Dal (roughing), 16:17.

Shots on goal – Minnesota 7-12-14 33. Dallas 17-11-5 33.

Goalies – Minnesota, Hackett (28-33). Dallas, Lehtonen (30-33), Bachman (0-0). Referees – Frederick L'Ecuyer, Dan O'Halloran. Linesmen – Kiel Murchison, Mike Cvik.