Whistle after whistle, penalty after penalty the game dragged on, but in the end the Minnesota Wild came away with a 2-1 overtime victory over the Calgary Flames Tuesday at the Xcel Energy Center.

The overtime lasted just one shot and 27 seconds when Zach Parise buried a backhand past Joey MacDonald during a power play that carried over from the final minute of regulation.

With as many penalties as were called during the game, it was fitting that the game ended with and was decided by a power play goal.

The two teams combined for 15 penalties and 35 penalty minutes.

The Flames (7-7-4) had two extended power plays, including a five-major and double minor advantages. The Wild kept the Flames off the board on both. Even though the Flames scored their only goal on the power play, but could not score when it needed to on the man advantage.

"When you waste nine minutes of power play without getting a shot on net, you don't deserve to win," Flames coach Bob Hartley said. "We could have put them away and didn't. They had the chance to put us away and did."

For players like Devin Setoguchi that do not get a lot of penalty kill time, it can be difficult to find the flow of a game.

"It's tough," he said. "We had probably 17 minutes (of penalty kill time). So guys are sitting there for a whole period. That's tough, especially if you don't play power play either. You just have to stay in it mentally."

The discussion has come up as to whether or not Charlie Coyle should be suspended for his hit to Matt Stajan.

The answer is no, he should not be suspended. He should not be fined. He should not have been assessed a five-minute penalty. He should not have been assessed a penalty period.

It was not roughing. He hit him in the chest.

It was not boarding. He hit face-to-face.

It was not elbowing. He did not extended nor make direct contact to the Flames forward.

It was not interference. This is more of a gray area. He hit him late, but referees do not call late hits anymore.

The fact that the referees called it an "elbowing" penalty proves that they were not going to make the call until Stajan stayed down. Elbowing was the least logical penalty of the group.

Hartley was asked after the game if he wanted the league to look at the hit. He responded with a clear "no," but did so as he sped out of the press conference and back to the locker room.

The Wild (9-7-2) had opportunities, Mikko Koivu hit the post and cross bar on two separate shots in the second period, but did not solve MacDonald until the 15:41 mark of the third period. Setoguchi sent a perfect pass to the slot where Jason Zucker re-directed the puck into the open net. Zucker gave credit to both Setoguchi and Mikael Granlund, who drove the net and two defenders with him to create the open lane for him.

Three Stars

No. 3 – Zach Parise. The Wild forward scored the game-winning goal.

No. 2 – Jason Zucker. The Wild forward sent the game to overtime with his second goal of the season.

No. 1 – Niklas Backstrom. The Wild goaltender stopped 20 shots and kept his team in the game in the first period.


Calgary         1 0 0 0 – 1

Minnesota     0 0 1 1 – 2

First Period – 1, Calgary, Tanguay 6 (Bouwmeester, Cammalleri), 10:18. Penalties – Brodie, Cgy (tripping), 6:06; Zucker, Min (slashing), 10:11; Cervenka, Cgy (interference), 13:23; Setoguchi, Min (slashing), 13:23; Spurgeon, Min (hooking), 16:48.

Second Period – None. Penalties – Stajan, Cgy (interference), :12; Parise, Min (cross checking), 1:31; Cammalleri, Cgy (roughing), 7:51; Mitchell, Min (hooking), 10:42; Glencross, Cgy (high sticking), 12:24; Coyle, Min, major (elbowing), 14:52.

Third Period – 2, Minnesota, Zucker 2 (Setoguchi, Suter), 15:41. Penalties – Butler, Cgy (tripping), 3:58; Brodin, Min, double minor (high sticking), 10:26; Giordano, Cgy (delay of game-smothering puck), 19:17.

Overtime – 3, Minnesota, Parise 8 (Koivu, Suter), :27 (pp). Penalties – None.

Shots on goal – Calgary 12-5-4-0 21. Minnesota 9-11-9-1 30.

Goalies – Calgary, MacDonald (28-30). Calgary, Backstrom (20-21). A – 18,703. Referees – Steve Kozari, Graham Skilliter. Linesmen – Brian Mach, Thor Nelson.