It has been a long time since the Minnesota Wild defeated the Dallas Stars in American Airlines Arena.

Ten years and four days to be exact.

Monday, the Wild finally got that monkey off their back with a 7-4 win.

The Wild (19-10-2) ended the 16-game losing streak in Dallas by erasing three one-goal deficits through the first and second periods.

Zach Parise led the way with two goals and an assist; all on game-tying scores.

The Minneapolis native tied the game at one and three and assisted on Mikko Koivu's goal that tied it at two.

Nearly five minutes after Parise scored his second goal of the game, Matt Cullen gave the Wild its first lead late in the second period with a sharp-angle shot. Cullen corralled a loose puck and wristed a shot past the scrambling Stars goaltender.

The Moorhead native becomes the ninth Minnesotan to score 200 career goals.

The Wild were put in a precarious situation when Mike Rupp was called for a double minor, high sticking penalty with seven minutes and 22 seconds remaining in the game.

But, it took the Wild just 20 seconds to take the lead for good when Kyle Brodziak knocked a rebound off a shot by Cal Clutterbuck. It was the Wild's first shorthanded goal of the season.

The tandem later set up Dany Heatley's rebound goal to give the Wild its first two-goal lead of the game at the 18:32 mark of the third period.

Pierre-Marc Bouchard, the only player remaining on the Wild's roster from its last win in Dallas, capped the scoring with an empty-net goal with just over 15 seconds remaining.

The Stars (15-14-3) scored the game's first goal at the 5:31 mark of the opening period, despite being dominated prior to scoring.

Three Stars

No. 3 – Matt Cullen. The Wild forward recorded a goal and an assist.

No. 2 – Mikko Koivu. The Wild forward recorded a goal and an assist.

No. 1 – Zach Parise. The Wild forward scored two goals and added an assist.


Minnesota…..1 3 3 – 7

Dallas……….2 1 1 – 4

First Period – 1, Dallas, Goligoski 1 (Roy), 5:31. 2, Minnesota, Parise 13 (Setoguchi, Cullen), 7:35. 3, Dallas, Jagr 14 (Eriksson, Whitney), 17:47 (pp). Penalties – Brodin, Min (tripping), 17:27; Roussel, Dal, misconduct (10-minute).

Second Period – 4, Minnesota, Koivu 9 (Parise, Stoner), 4:42. 5, Dallas, Daley 4 (Eriksson, Goligoski), 5:10. 6, Minnesota, Parise 14 (Koivu, Brodin), 9:33. 7, Minnesota, Cullen 5 (Bouchard, Spurgeon), 14:22. Penalties – Falk, Min (slashing), 15:19; Roussel, Dal (roughing), 15:19; Fiddler, Dal (roughing), 15:19.

Third Period – 8, Dallas, Larsen 2 (Smith, Vincour), 7:02. 9, Minnesota, Brodziak 6 (Clutterbuck, Stoner), 12:38 (sh). 10, Minnesota, Heatley 9 (Clutterbuck, Brodziak), 18:32. 11, Minnesota, Bouchard 4 (Spurgeon), 19:44 (en). Penalties – Benn, Dal (slashing), 9:08; Rupp, Min, double, (high sticking; served by Bouchard), 12:16; Rupp, Min, misconduct (10-minute), 12:18.

Shots on goal – Minnesota 17-14-11 42. Dallas 14-5-7 26.

Goalies – Minnesota, Backstrom (22-26). Dallas, Lehtonen (35-41). Referees – Ian Walsh, Chris Rooney. Linesmen – Darren Gibbs, Jonny Murray.