Dany Heatley turned and fired a shot at Nikolai Khabibulin from a sharp angle that found its way into the net to tie the game with less than two seconds remaining in regulation.

The Minnesota Wild rode the momentum of that goal through overtime and defeated the Edmonton Oilers 2-1 Thursday at Rexall Place.

The Wild (3-2-2) had opportunity after opportunity throughout the third period, but needed all 60 minutes to get the game tied.

Pierre-Marc Bouchard swept a shot toward the goal in the waning seconds that hit the side of the goal. Devin Setoguchi got to the loose puck and sent a no-look drop pass to Heatley for the game-tying goal.

Heatley had seven shots during the game, including at least a couple one-timers from the low slot. But it took a shallow angle shot to get the goal.

Niklas Backstrom stopped two shots and saw the third shooter ring a shot off the goal post to get the win.

Matt Cullen scored the only goal of the shootout for the Wild.

With the win, the Wild moves into second place in the Northwest Division, two behind leader Colorado, and seventh place in the Western Conference.

The Oilers (2-2-2) scored first late in the first period when Ryan Jones tapped a pass from Ryan Smyth into the open net behind Backstrom. Smyth received a gift turnover from Greg Zanon, who did not recover leaving Jones all alone in front of the net.

The Wild lost Mikko Koivu in the third period with a cut on his chin. He should be available in the Wild’s next game Saturday in Vancouver.

After Oiler captain Shawn Horcoff chopped his feet out from under him, Heatley’s skate came up and caught Koivu in the face.

Three Stars

No. 3 – Nikolai Khabibulin. The Oilers goaltender faced a lot of good scoring chances, but kept the Wild off the scoreboard for 59:58.

No. 2 – Devin Setoguchi. The Wild forward set up the game-tying goal with a very good no-look drop pass.

No. 1 – Dany Heatley. The Wild forward tied the game with just over one second remaining in regulation.


Wild       0 0 1 0 – 2

Oilers     1 0 0 0 – 1

     First Period – 1, Edmonton, Jones 2 (Smyth), 16:06. Penalties – Smyth, Edm (goaltender interference), 2:58; Brodziak, Min (hooking), 6:03; Eager, Edm (slashing), 17:16; Eager, Edm, major (fighting), 17:16; Staubitz, Min, major (fighting), 17:16.

     Second Period – None. Penalties – Schultz, Min (hooking), 2:34; Nugent-Hopkins, Edm (interference), 3:59; Barker, Edm (cross checking), 13:58.

     Third Period – 2, Minnesota, Heatley 2 (Setoguchi, Bouchard), 19:58. Penalties – None.

     Overtime – None. Penalties – None.

     Shots on goal – Minnesota 7-10-12-2 31. Edmonton 9-9-9-4 31.

     Shootout – Edmonton, Eberle (save), Nugent-Hopkins (save), Belanger (missed). Minnesota, Cullen (goal), Bouchard (save).

     Goalies – Wild, Backstrom (30-31). Oilers, Khabibulin (30-31). A – N/A. Referees – Marc Joannette, Kyle Rehman. Linesmen – Greg Devorski, Thor Nelson.